Wedding Wednesday: Licensed to Wed

wedding-wednesday-header

On Friday afternoon we started the weekend a bit early and went to get our marriage license. Matt met me uptown and surprised me at my car with flowers. Isn’t he just the cutest most thoughtful guy around?

photo 1

During our walk to the courthouse, Matt kept saying what a big deal this was. I guess I had only been thinking of it as the next check box that needed completed on our ever-growing Excel spreadsheet of tasks to do before October 10th. But Matt was right. All we really need is this little piece of paper and we can get married. Yes, the planning and party will all be great, but it’s very easy to lose sight of the true meaning of marriage when you get wrapped up in seating charts and song lists.

The process was easy and took about 7 minutes total. We had to swear under oath that we are who we said we were (and that we weren’t cousins) and we were on our way. There were two men in line in front of us applying for their marriage license as well. Same-sex marriage in North Carolina has just recently been legalized. It made me happy to see them there. There is no reason why those two men don’t deserve to be just as happy as me and Matt are.

Afterwards, we asked the employee there to take our picture. Corny, but I’m sure we weren’t the first ones to ask…

photo 2

And then we spent the next 10 minutes perfecting our marriage license selfie.

photo 4

photo 3

Afterwards Matt treated me to drinks at one of our favorite uptown spots, and then a trip to our favorite local brewery followed by dinner. It was a great (and unexpected) afternoon. Thanks, MRH for making the ordinary feel exciting! Only 44 more days!!

2 thoughts on “Wedding Wednesday: Licensed to Wed

  1. Yay! This is exciting!! And yes, the marriage license selfie is very important haha! I have a fun Charlotte Blogging event coming up! I don’t see an email here for you, but if you’d be interested, shoot me an email and I’ll send you the invitation! Just a fun little party to mingle with other local bloggers! (hodgespodgesblog@gmail.com)

Leave a Reply

