Europtrip Recap Days 4 & 5: Solo in Slovenia

This was the first day that MRH had to work so he got up and left early. Me, on the other hand, didn’t get up until 12:30. I felt very lazy but I knew  I didn’t want to waste my whole day sleeping. I did some searches and found a coffee shop that was nearby. I walked thru the Ljubljana University and found the quaint “Le Petit Cafe”. It was near the University so there were a lot of young people and a cool vibe. I was able to connect to WiFi and catch up on some of my favorite blogs.  I was the only person in the coffee shop on an iPad which would be a much different scene in the U.S.

After lunch I walked around a bit and took some pictures and then headed back to the hotel. I didn’t have much to do so I went back to the spa and indulged in the sauna once again. I was feeling sick before we left the states but  I think the sauna really helped clear up my sinuses. I experienced my first naked European which was quite awkward for me, but not seemingly an issue at all to the gentleman. Matt got back from his work meeting and let me know the bad news. There was a work dinner later that evening…that I had not been invited to. It was unfortunate but not a big deal.

photo 2 (20)

photo 3 (20)

 

We decided to go out and explore a bit before his dinner and had heard there was a “lovers bridge” similar to that in Paris. we purchased a lock at the post office and then headed to the “Butchers Bridge”. The bridge was built in 2009 so there was a much smaller amount of locks than you’d find in Paris. Although we both admitted it was a bit corny, we locked our lock to the steel cable on the bridge, made a wish, and threw the keys into the Ljubljana River. I guess this means he’s stuck with me forever….muhahahah!

Matt headed to his and dinner and I headed back to the hotel. This is when my cabin fever got really bad. There were only two TV stations that were in English, CNN and the History Channel. I must have heard the same news looped over and over nearly 100 times before I started watching “Doomsday Preppers”.  It was depressing being alone, but I had to remind myself I was a once-in-a-lifetime adventure. After what seemed like 10 hours, Matt finally got back. At the end of the day I was just happy to be on vacation and laughing with my best friend.

The next day Matt had to work again, so I did what any other American girl would do…shop! I visited the 4 story H&M and Zara. I left empty-handed except for a few post cards for home. While I have to give the Slovenians most of the credit for speaking such great English, I was really proud of myself for communicating and navigating around town alone. I purchased some post cards and headed back to the hotel to meet MRH. He had another work dinner that night, but not until later. He was sweet and took me out to dinner so that I wouldn’t have to go alone. We are at a cute little place and ordered a “Crispy” — essentially a flat bread with a multitude of different toppings to choose from. We ended the night by walking to a wine bar for a quick glass of vino.

As I sat and reflected on our last night in Ljubljana, I couldn’t help to think about what an amazing experience Slovenia had been. I never thought in a million years I would ever have spent my 26th birthday in a castle in Slovenia. Prior to the trip I had no clue of where Slovenia even was. I was blown away by the graciousness of everyone we met. They were all so genuine. They all went out of their way to speak English and to accommodate us. The snowy town of Ljubljana is peaceful and quaint. A place I never knew even existed is now a place that I will hold in my heart forever.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Europtrip Recap Days 4 & 5: Solo in Slovenia

Leave a Reply

