Ain’t no love in the heart of the city

Day 2: Philadelphia

Our new flight out of Philly didn’t leave until 6:30pm so we slept until after noon. We then put our same clothes back on and caught a cab into the city. We walked up and down Walnut Street, people watching and looking for a brunch destination.  A friend had recommended Rittenhouse Square. There were so many nice shops and restaurants that it was hard to choose which one to stop at. We ended up at a cute little table on the sidewalk at a.kitchen. The brunch menu featured a Cava Bar…right up our alley for our trip to Spain in just a few hours. I ordered the Daffodil – cava with honey, elderflower and bitters. YUM!

We were about to order our food when I saw a missed call from my Dad. I thought it was strange that he would be calling because I had just gotten off the phone with him about an hour before. When I called him back he told me that he was in an ambulance and headed to the hospital. He couldn’t get in touch with my mom or sister, so he was calling so somewhere knew where he was. He had a really bad bike accident and thought his hip might be broken. I can say I don’t really remember the rest of the afternoon in Philly. I was in shock and calling my mom and sister over and over to get updates. I even considered flying home to Charlotte instead of to Spain, but dad insisted that I go on the trip.

We got to the airport and through check-in and security in perfect time to board the plane. I was able to talk to dad one more time before he went into surgey. I got on the plane with a very heavy, and worried heart for my dear-old-dad.

One thought on “Ain’t no love in the heart of the city

Leave a Reply

