Other Weekend Happenings

Monday I posted about my baptism, which trumped every other event this past weekend. However, it was a really great weekend for other reasons to.

Friday night I headed to Park Lanes for the annual SEC Alumni Bash with a few of my girlfriends. The SEC party was held in the parking lot of the bowling alley and each school had their own tent and set-up. I know I’m biased, but I think the USC spot was the best…how can you compete with a real stuffed gamecock and a larger-than-life blow-up Cocky? There was a great turnout and I think it got everyone really jazzed about football season starting this week! And even though Matt is a Gator, he was a good sport to put up with us crazy girls all night! After the party, we headed to Angry Ales for some dinner and more drinks. I ended the night early in preparation for my big event on Saturday morning.

On Saturday I met my Dad bright and early to head to my first-ever bike race. The race was called the Tour de Turns and started at the Brixx shopping center on Fairview. We opted to do the 25 mile ride (there was a 15, 30, and 60 mile ride as well) – and halfway in I thought I might be walking my bike back to the finish line. The ride was actually not too bad, just a lot of hills in the first 15 miles that I wasn’t prepared for. I have only been riding since Christmas (and honestly have probably only ridden 8-10 times) so 25 miles was a big undertaking for me.   We couldn’t have asked for better weather; it was a gorgeous Carolina day, and the route provided many shady streets. I was so impressed by the amount of people who were sitting in their driveways to cheer us on as we rode past.  Wouldn’t it be great if in life we had a “cheering squad” who followed us around and cheered us on through our daily lives?  While climbing some pretty terrible hills that seemed like they would never end… I kept repeating Proverbs 31:25 in my head over and over and over again. “She is clothed in strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days (HILLS) to come

We finished in 2 hours and 18 minutes (including a 10 minute stop at the rest station) and I was thrilled! Although…my Dad did bring up a good point that some people RUN 25 miles in the amount of time it took us to ride…show offs! After the race there was a raffle and my name was randomly selected to win a gift card to a bike store in town, hooray! This is only the second year of this particular event and it raised $10,000 that will be donated to Loaves and Fishes, Friendship Trays and Second Harvest Food Bank. I was so glad I had my Dad there – he is a machine! He’s double my age and in way better shape! I think I might have slowed him down a little, but was glad he was there to challenge me.

photo (55)

Surprisingly enough, I was still able to walk after the ride! So Matt and I took a nice walk around the neighborhood. The weather was so beautiful that it was made no sense to be inside all day. Later in the afternoon we met our friends for dinner at Brixx. After that we all headed to Common Market for a few drinks. Common Market is being a tradition for us, and we usually find ourselves there 3-4 times per week. Its easy, relaxed, and there’s some seriously good people watching!

After church we met some other friends at Liberty for some lunch and vino and then back to Common Market where we spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing and laughing.  All and all fantastic weekend! Looking forward to an  exciting Labor Day weekend a few days to finally relax!!

Leave a Reply

