Always Be Your Baby

photo (13)

photo (8)

“I’ll always be your baby
No matter how the years fly by
The way you love me made me
Who I am in this world
I’m a woman now, Not a little girl
Wherever this life takes me
I’ll always be your baby”

Dear Dad –

I remember in second grade we were given the assignment to write about our heroes. Without any hesitation, I jotted down two pages of notes about my own personal hero; YOU! I know I don’t tell you this often enough, but if given that assignment again today, nothing would change about my pick.

In my weird, over analyzing- everything brain, I always thought it was so neat that we both had “M” for our middle initials and that we both we born in years with the same digit (’55 and ’88). Maybe it’s just me, or maybe you see it too, but I’ve always thought that you and I share a very special bond. You were the Dad who always put his family before anything. You never let your job get so serious that you weren’t able to make it to every sporting event, school concert, or birthday. Some of my best childhood memories include you coaching my soccer teams (the “king of the circle” game was the best), you bringing lunch to the school and eating with me and my friends, and you reading books to me every night (Addie from American Girl is still my favorite).

Now that I’m older, I don’t need you to quiz me on my vocab words anymore, but you are still there for me in every other way possible. You are my career counselor when I’m having love/hate relationships with Human Resources (another thing we both share), my personal banker when I need a few dollars to prevent another overdraft fee, my lunch buddy, my proof reader, my spiritual advisor, my Carolina Football gameday compadre, blog reader and my shag dance partner.

I cannot wait to see how the next twenty-five years of our relationship grows and evolves. I can’t wait to walk down the aisle with you on my special day and to see you interact with my own children one day. Thank you for teaching me about patience and resilience, hard work, and showing me that integrity and good character will get you far in life. Thank you for loving me unconditionally. I am so proud of you, Dad.

I love you to the moon and back! No matter what, I’ll always be your baby.

CMH

One thought on “Always Be Your Baby

Leave a Reply

