Why 30 is not the new 20

Hi Blog Readers – Sorry I’ve been a ghost for the past few weeks. The Monday after the wedding extravaganza (pictures to come this week!)  – my boss left for a 6-8 week medical leave of absence. Since it is just she and I on our team, I am doing my job along with hers as well. Talk about overwhelming! I am trying to stay sane and view it as a tremendous learning opportunity, and also a way to prove that I am capable of taking on more responsibilities.

I recently stumbled upon this TED talk given by Meg Jay. Being in my mid 20’s, I receive a lot of mixed messages. Some people will tell you that your 20’s are for exploring and ignoring “adult” topics.  A time to enjoy your freedom and delay growing up. Meg’s TED talk will totally change your outlook on your 20’s. “Throwing away” your 20’s can have negative effects on your career, marriage, and development. A few points that really stood out to me…

  • There are 50 million 20-somethings in the US right now – makes up 15% of the population
  • 80% of life’s most defining moments happen by age 35.
  • 8/10 of the decisions and experiences that make your life what it is will happen by your mid 30’s
  • The first 10 years of your career makes exponential impact on how much money you’ll earn
  • 1/2 of Americans are dating, living with, or married to their life partner by age 30
  • The brain caps off it second and last growth spurt in your 20’s as it rewires itself for adulthood – whatever it is that you want to change about yourself, NOW is the time!
  • Personality changes more in your 20’s than in any other time in life
  • Female fertility peaks at age 28 and gets more complicated after age 35

 

2 thoughts on “Why 30 is not the new 20

  1. Too funny….CMH, I just read her “The Defining Decade” three weeks ago! Good book, but definitely puts your twenties into perspective.

Leave a Reply

