Dear Mama,

photo (12)

“Lady… 
Don’t cha know we love ya? Sweet lady
Dear mama
Place no one above ya, sweet lady
You are appreciated
Don’t cha know we love ya?” -2PAC

Do you ever feel like rap lyrics are the only way to accurately portray your feelings? 2PAC’s “Dear Mama”  really hits the mark for me on how I feel about my mother, minus a few facts that I’m not huggin on my mama from a jail cell,  she wasn’t a poor single mother on welfare and I’m not sellin rocks to pay her rent.

Jokes aside, my mother is real life Saint walking the Earth. You can read about that here. She is my therapist, my maid, my chef, my personal assistant, my stylist, my best friend, my chauffeur, my interior designer…the list goes on forever. She gets up every day and gives tirelessly to our family.  Her kindness and generosity are endless.  She always puts others before herself, almost to a fault.  She is relentless, she is a fighter. She is beautiful.

Mom – I don’t think I’ll ever be able to put into words what you mean to me. You have set the bar pretty high – I can only pray that one day I’ll be blessed with a daughter and be able to show her unconditional love the way you do. I don’t do a very good job of showing it, but my love and admiration for you are so strong. I strive to be more like you every day. I love you!

“I’ll love you forever,

I’ll like you for always,

As long as I’m living

my Mommy you’ll be.

9780920668375_p3_v1_s600

One thought on “Dear Mama,

  1. I just get a warm tingly feeling every time I read this post CMH!

    Thank you again for the best mother’s day ever! I love the time we spent together. Thanks for taking your valuable time and spending with us. It meant the world to me!

    Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

