Weekend Wrap-Up

This past weekend was the first weekend since before Thanksgiving where we did not have a single plan. With the holidays, three weddings, birthdays, and out-of-town trips, it felt slightly weird to have nothing to do. I have to admit, we were actually kind of bored! As much as it was needed, sometimes it’s hard to just sit and do nothing. We’re so used to always being on the go. Anyways, we took full advantage of our free time and had a successfully lazy weekend.

Friday night I was craving Mexican, so we tried out Maverick Rock Taco on Montford.  Our go-to Mexican joints are usually Azteca or Cantina 1511, and I think we’ll stick with those. I wasn’t crazy about Maverick. The food was decent, but nothing spectacular. My standard system for judging is based upon the chips and salsa. Maverick’s = weak.  Afterwards we stopped by Park 10 Lanes to see how long the wait to bowl would be. It was already almost ten o’clock and I didn’t have socks, which made the decision easy to not wait an hour and half for an open lane.  We were in the mood to try something different, so we checked out a new bar/lounge to South End, ‘Stache House.  People really seem to be clinging to this mustache-theme trend these days. I never thought a mustache bar could be successful, right? ‘Stache House describes itself as having a “modern take on a Victorian speakeasy” – and  I did really like the way the interior was decorated, it was swanky and upscale.  However,  the clientele was a little strange, and I’ve never really been into the whole hookah scene. Friday night ended by falling asleep on the sofa, pretty typical.

I’ve been wanting to check out the Farmers Market at the Atherton Mill Market for a while now, so Matt and I planned to get up early and go on Saturday.  I accidently slept until noon, so our morning plans got pushed back a little. We made some to-go mimosa’s and walked down to the Market. Due to my laziness, we didn’t get to the market until after 1pm, and it closes at 2. We were disappointed to find that most of the vendors had already sold out of most of their items, and some had already packed-up and gone home. We were able to participate in a wine tasting from Vin Master and are now looking forward to attending their “Mega Tasting” later this month. We were hoping to pick up some fresh seafood, and have learned our lesson that we need to get their early next time! The rest of the afternoon was excessively lazy, including not one, but two naps. Later that evening I finally took a shower and met up with my girlfriends at Nikko’s. We had planned a girls night back in October and November, and all of our schedules were so crazy that February was the first available Saturday we all had.  After dinner we headed to the Epicenter (where our friendship first began!) – shots at Nikko’s led to free drinks at Blackfinn  which somehow led to bottle service at Suite which  then led to 80s night at Roxbury and inevitably late-night Moe’s.  There’s never a dull moment with these girls and I hadn”t had a night out uptown in a while, it was a nice change of pace!

Atherton Market

Atherton Market

I received a road bike as a Christmas present, but haven’t had any free time to take it back to the store to have it fitted and tuned-up. So on Sunday my Dad met me at TrySports with my bike. Fernando at TrySports is awesome, and I highly recommend him to anyone in the bike market. He spent a lot of time with me and my bike. He was very thorough and made sure that I was good to go. I cannot wait for a warm weekend to finally get out on the road.  My Dad has two bikes and really enjoy’s riding. I am so excited to have him as a biking partner. I have already researched trails and routes in the area…come on warm weather!! After the bike store, Matt and I headed up to Selwyn Pub. It was a little crisp out, but we sat near a fire pit and loved every minute we got to spend outdoors.  We’ve recently gotten into sports betting (on a very small scale, no need to worry!) and this was the first weekend without any football. So we got creative and made our own Grammy’s betting game, picking who we thought would win each category. I’m glad to say that Mumford & Sons helped me be the night’s big winner (a whole $4, woo!!!).  Can we take a minute to talk about how amazing Justin Timberlake was?? Status of  Sexy: “Officially Brought Back”!

Our bets

Our bets

Leave a Reply

