2012 {A Banner Year}

15506184-2012-and-new-year-2013-coming--waves-erase-year-2012-on-the-sandy-beach

The sermon theme for the past seven weeks at church was “Banner Years” – having a year that was above average financially, physically,  emotionally, etc.  With 2012 coming to an end, I began to think about my own year. With the hustle and bustle of the holidays it was nice to take a few minutes to take in all of the amazing things that happened in 2012. The more I thought about it, there hasn’t been a year yet that I wouldn’t consider a ‘Banner Year’. I sure have been blessed beyond measure!

A few highlights from my year in review:

January: I joined the Junior League of Charlotte and met some awesome ladies that I now consider some of my best friends. Not only did I make new friends, but I am proud to be a part of an organization that gives so much back to the Charlotte community. I am thankful for the opportunity the League has given me to develop my leadership skills.

February: I turned 24 and was thrown the most amazing 24-karat themed birthday party by dear friends and family. The party made me realized how many great friends I have and how lucky I am to have such a great support system. It was also the last year before the dreaded ‘quarter-of-a-century birthday’, definitely a reason to celebrate!

Me and my sweet momma at my 24th birthday party

Me and my sweet momma at my 24th birthday party

March: In March I met Mr. Matt Helgeson; and in the most romantic of ways, at a Bubba Sparxxx concert. Meeting Matt made me realize that true love really does exist and that relationships don’t have to be complicated or dramatic. Matt is gentle, compassionate, and always making me laugh. Without a doubt, I know that he is the man I’ve been praying for all these years!

April: My love for the Carolina Gamecocks and the City of Charlotte was combined when I was inducted as a Board Member for the Charlotte Gamecock Club. I have loved getting to know other alumni in the area and have learned so much about event planning. In August, the club hosted our 3rd Annual Golf Tournament, which was a blast!

Dad and I at the golf tournament. Go Gamecocks!

Dad and I at the golf tournament. Go Gamecocks!

May: One of my goals in 2012 was to find a new job, and in May that happened. I spent almost two years at AAA Carolinas, but I knew there was something more for me out there. I was thrilled when Sunbelt Rentals approached me to come work for their team. Although this wasn’t my final career change of the year, I learned a lot from the experience, and am thankful for the opportunities that AAA Carolinas provided me.

June: The entire family was thrilled when we found out we would be adding a member to it. Bob asked my sister to be his wife, and made her the happiest girl in the whole world. I could not have asked for someone more perfect for her, and am glad that I will finally have a brother!

He put a ring on it

He put a ring on it

July: Behind Christmas, July 4th is a very close runner up. It is definitely my favorite day of the summer months. Typically spent at the Inlet with good friends, this year was different. I stayed in Charlotte because Matt’s family was coming into town. This was the first time that I met them (in less you count the time we “met” on FaceTime) and it was important to me to stay in town. Some how I got dragged into running a 4th of July 4-mile race with them. It’s pretty embarrassing when your boyfriends mom finishes the race, and then runs back to find you to finish the race again. Although it was hotter than Hades, it was a challenge, and possibly the beginning of a tradition. Its always fun when you get to show off your city that you love so much!

After finishing the race

After finishing the race

August: August was apparently the month for engagement parties. Whitney and Bob’s was party was so much fun. The venue was perfect, the decorations and food were magazine worthy, and it was the first time in long while that some of our friends and family had last been in town. There are so many people who love our family, and we are very lucky! We also attended a sorority sisters engagement party in Greenville, SC that was a blast. It’s always great to be reunited with old friends.

Family at the engagement party

Family at the engagement party

September: I wasn’t completely happy at Sunbelt Rentals so I began my job hunt again. After many rounds of interviews, I was offered a job with Bank of America Merchant Services. I was thrilled when I received the offer because there was a part of me that didn’t think I would get it. I love working uptown, and I love working for an established company that challenges me daily.

October: The cool fall air brought with it football season. Not only did USC beat Georgia, we destroyed them. It definitely ranks up there as one of my favorite games that I’ve seen at Williams-Brice. I also got to cross something off my bucket list; I attended the Florida-Georgia game in Jacksonville, FL. Although the outcome wasn’t favorable, it was great to meet Matt’s college friends and to experience “the worlds largest outdoor cocktail party”.

November: A complete shot in the dark, I asked my family to run in the Turkey Trot 5K on Thanksgiving morning. To my surprise, they all agreed. Which meant that I actually had to run it also! Running a 5K was on my 2012 New Years Resolution list and boy did I put that one off! In the end, I’m so glad we all challenged ourselves. I’m chalking it up to adrenaline, but the race wasn’t bad at all, and I have the bug to run another one soon!

photo (2)

December: This month has been a whirlwind with end-of-year deadlines, holiday shopping, trips, and friends weddings, but am so thankful for the year that I’ve had. I am so thankful for my wonderful family, dear friends, my health, my career and my faith.

Cheers to 2013 and the opportunities that lie ahead!

One thought on “2012 {A Banner Year}

Leave a Reply

