Christmas in Chicago

Besides Charlotte, Chicago is one of my favorite cities! I am so lucky that my sister lives in the Windy City and try to visit as often as possible. There is something about Christmas in Chicago that is just magical! Last November I happened to visit the same weekend that Macy’s did their Tree Lighting (and also a featured a guest appearance from Guiliana and Bill). This is not your typical run-of-the-mill Carolina Place Macy’s either. It has 9 floors and is simply amazing. Last years trip was so great that I decided I wanted to make it a holiday tradition to get to Chicago. This year Mom decided she would join me, and we would make a girls weekend out of it.

 

This tree was huge. Can you see tiny little Sandy at the bottom?

This tree was huge. Can you see tiny little Sandy at the bottom?

 

Since I spent less than 48 hours in Chicago, our time was very limited. Saturday we woke up at the crack of dawn (8am falls into this category on Saturdays, right?) and went to a few bridal boutiques. We were THRILLED when Whitney decided on a dress for her big day. As soon as she put the veil on, emotions overcame me. I could not stop crying. She looked absolutely stunning and was beaming with happiness. And luckily, this was one of the last big items to cross off the wedding to-do list. After a celebratory brunch, we did a bunch of shopping. Brr was it cold! Chicago’s weather is no joke. I have no idea how people actually live there.

Did I mention that it was cold?? I could only stand for a tiny portion of my face to be exposed to the elements.

Did I mention that it was cold?? I could only stand for a tiny portion of my face to be exposed to the elements.

Saturday night, Whitney surprised us with an early Christmas present…tickets to “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” Musical.  The Cadillac Palace Theater was amazing. It was originally built in the 1920’s and it looked as if nothing had changed since then.  The architecture and decor were beautiful. And the musical was awesome! I would go see it 10 more times, it was that good! It was so much fun to be able to dress in our furs and attend the theater.

Cadillac Palace

Cadillac Palace

Before the musical

Before the musical

Inside the theater

Inside the theater

 

After the musical, we headed to The Drake Hotel, which could be one of my Top 10 Favorite Places. If I lived in Chicago, I would definitely have my wedding at The Drake. It is so gorgeous that words can’t do it justice. Palm Court is a room at The Drake that is simply luxurious. Queen Elizabeth and Princess Diana have enjoyed afternoon tea at Palm Court. But the evenings are when the magic happens.  Cocktails and hors d’oeuvres are served and on most weekend nights there is a full band and dancing…lots of dancing. I dream that one day I’ll be able to dance like these people at The Drake, but for now I’ll have to settle for people watching with a glass of Pinot!

photo (16)

Even the bathrooms are amazing

Even the bathrooms are amazing

It was a perfect weekend and really helped to get me in the Christmas spirit! Can’t wait to be back up there for New Years celebrations!

Love them so much!

Love them so much!

 

 

One thought on “Christmas in Chicago

Leave a Reply

