Friday5 {Thanksgiving Edition}

I think I love Thanksgiving almost as much as I love Christmas. It is the one holiday where our family comes to Charlotte. For years we would pack up the car and travel to Virginia to my grandparents house. I’m so glad my parents finally made the decision that we would stay put and have everyone come to us. We have a very small extended family, but over the years we’ve been so lucky to “adopt” some members and our celebration has grown. It’s sad that it takes a specific day to recognize your blessings, but each year as I sit at the table, I am in awe at all that I have been provided with. This year we have even more to be thankful for – as we’re adding a new member, Bob, to the family in May!

 

 

1. DIY Chalkboard Menu Board: Chalkboard spray paint is around $7 and is super easy to use. For this menu board, you can spray glass from an old frame, an old mirror or even an old cabinet door. I also saw someone who had gotten a plastic silver platter from the dollar store and sprayed the interior portion and made it a menu board. This is a great way to display what your guests will be eating, and cheap and easy to make!

 

 

2. Corkcickle:  If you’re anything like the Hewitt’s, then you like some (a lot) of wine with your Thanksgiving meal. There is nothing worse than a lukewarm bottle of white wine. And unless you like ice cubes in your glass or making a million trips to the fridge, then this could really put a damper on your festivities. Plus, who has room on their table for an ice bucket? I plan to have my table filled to maximum capacity with FOOD. The “Corkcickle” is an amazing invention. Simply pop in the freezer for 2 hours before you plan to use it, insert into a chilled bottle and wah-lah! The “Corkcickle” can be cleaned and reused over and over and keeps wine at the perfect temperature.

 

 

3. Turkey Trot: Somehow I convinced every one in my family to run at 5K race on Thanksgiving morning…still not really sure how I pulled this one off?? None of us are runners. And none of us have ran 3 straight miles in a LONG time. Although the fam has been calling it the “death march”, I know we will all be proud we did it at the end. Personally, I think everyone should just be glad we’re not doing the 8K. Plus, the more calories you burn, the more you get to eat, right?

 

4. Clemson/Carolina Rivalry: Competition between sisters can be ruthless, especially when you both attended college at rival Universities. The Clemson/Carolina rivalry is unlike anything else. Regardless if they actually went to college at one of the schools, every person in the state of South Carolina has an allegiance to one school or the other.  Each year, “The Battle of the Palmetto State” reminds me of how lucky I am to feel so passionate about where I went to school. The game is the longest uninterrupted series in the South and the second longest uninterrupted series overall, having been played every year since 1909.  We also have started a family tradition involving the game. My Dad finds the wishbone in the turkey, and my sister and I each get a side to break.  The theory is that whoever gets the “lucky break” will have their team win the big game. So far it’s been true every year since we started doing it. Having many friends and family who went to Clemson keeps things very interesting and exciting and I love that we will always have this rivalry to keep things interesting. The history behind the event is so unique – and makes me very proud to be a Carolina Gamecock!

Clemson/Carolina 2011
(USC 34- CU 13)

Clemson/Carolina 2009
(USC – 34 CU -17)

5. Giving Back: So you’ve stuffed your face and start to doze off when the Post-Thanksgiving blues begin to set in. You realize the main event has come and gone and all that’s left to show for it is a bunch of dirty dishes and hopefully a few deviled eggs. Giving back to the community is a great way to re-energize! There are many opportunities to serve those around you. Besides the entire purpose of Thanksgiving is to be thankful for what you have and to give to those who don’t have as much.

 

Happy Thanksgiving, Y’all!

 

One thought on “Friday5 {Thanksgiving Edition}

  1. That chalkboard idea is very cute! I love that you convinced your family to do a Turkey trot! I am trying to do the same to mine…I still have a few more days! I will continue to prod them. hehe

Leave a Reply

