The Great Misunderstanding

This week we graduated from Financial Peace University! I first wrote about the course a few months ago (you can read about it here) and have loved every minute of it. It is definitely the smartest $100 I have ever spent, and I highly recommend it to anyone. I had many revelations, light bulb moments, and ahhhh-haaa’s on a variety of topics: insurance, home buying, retirement, college planning, and debt. But the last class hit home the most. The final lesson was titled “The Great Misunderstanding” – and boy was that accurate! Most of us currently understand that we have earned everything we own, and it is all ours. But, that is incorrect…

Everything we have is GODS.  He is the OWNER. He just has trusted you and I to be MANAGERS of it. He OWNS IT ALL.

Wow, what a perspective shift!! When I think of it as God’s money, it sure does make it hard to justify eating out 5 times a week, but not tithing or giving.  I also know that when I think of it as managing someone else’s money for them, it makes me want to be a lot more cautious about where the money is going.

Without the last step of “Build Wealth and Give,” financial peace is not possible.  Giving is in the very essence of God’s personality – so how can I say that I am Christ-like, or a Christ-follower when I’m not a giver? Every time I understand that I am not an owner, I move further down the spectrum from selfish to selfless. Plus, I don’t think there has ever been a person who has felt worse after giving. Giving of yourself, your money, or other resources turns lose passion, and creativity and has even caused reconciliation in relationships because when you give, YOU CHANGE. It turns you into who you were BORN to be!

With the holidays on their way, prepare your heart for giving. What can you give up in order to provide for someone else? And if you don’t have the financial means that’s OK. Volunteer your time, or your skills, or your resources As a steward of God’s money, we are called to give like He would.

“In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ ” –Acts 20:34

2 thoughts on “The Great Misunderstanding

  1. This is such an important lesson. Robert and I had the same kind of “ah-ha” moment in a financial series in a married couples small group we were in. It’s so important to understand that not only is everything we have- money, possessions, etc, belong to the Lord, it’s also a biblical principle to take good care of it, being good stewards (like you were doing by attending the “Financial Peace University”) and being accountable, by keeping a budget! I’m still teaching myself this lesson, but I can 100% relate to your post!

Leave a Reply

