Friday5

1. Reynolds Slow Cooker Liners: Ahhh, Crock Pot season is finally upon us! There is some weird reaction that seems to take over…as soon as there is a nip in the air, it just seems like the next natural progression is to start throwing a bunch of foods in a pot and letting it simmer allllllll day long. Matt and I have been experimenting with some different crock pot recipes. Last Sunday was the first cold day of the season and there were three NFL games on tap, so naturally chilli it was. The chili turned out delicious, however the mess it left was not. Then we discovered Reynolds Slow Cooker Liners. Consider it a, errr, diaper, for your crock pot. At first I was weary about the materials it would have to be made from for it not to burn inside the crock pot. However, after some investigation I learned that the liners contain no BPA and are approved by the FDA. They are a little pricey, $4.99 for 4 liners, but worth it to not battle the crock pot grime for the rest of the day. You can find a coupon for the liners here.

Before and After using the Slow Cooker Liners

2. Working Uptown: I am now on Day #8 of my new gig at Bank of America. I have lived in Charlotte for 18 years now, but was still always intimidated by Uptown Charlotte. The one-way streets, crowds of people and “skyscrapers” were very overwhelming. However, it was always a dream of mine to work here. I remember thinking in High School that everyone who worked in Charlotte must work uptown (and carry a briefcase, of course). My dreams were quickly deflated when my first job out of college was in the slums of  East Charlotte. But I am thankful to be up here now. My hour lunch break turns into adventure and exploration of the city. There are so many things I never knew about Uptown. You could spend just an hour exploring my building. I think the coolest part of my floor might be the “Urban Garden”. Each floor has a dedicated space with live trees and flowers to give the effect that you are outside. It doesn’t quite do the trick for fresh air, but it’s a nice escape. I am also very impressed by the “Wellness Room” aka nap room; complete with sofa and lock! I can’t wait to discover more!

My Building

3. Dress Up your iPhone: iPhone accessories are really expensive, especially when Apple comes up with a new version every quarter. It’s hard to stay trendy without spending a lot. But my dear friend Roxana introduced me to For Chic Sake. They provide the templates to create labels for your phone, or in this case, iPhone charger. Where was this decoration when everyone in the Hewitt household was arguing over the case of the mystery moving chargers?? I haven’t printed mine yet, but Rox said it was super easy, and look how adorable her’s turned out!

Roxana’s Nautical Themed Charger

4. Ben & Jerry’s Half-Baked Fro Yo: Of course the real thing is always better, but darn is this close. I recently discovered that my favorite Ben & Jerry’s flavor, Half Baked, came in the Fro Yo version, oh happy day!! I have to confess that this definitely encourages me to eat more, but I don’t feel quite as guilty afterwards. The Fro Yo version does not skimp on the chunks of cookie dough or the brownie and I think the Fro Yo part is actually better than the real versions ice cream.

Ben & Jerry’s Half Baked FroYo

5. Trader Joe’s Mini Ice Cream Cones: If your sweet tooth is really kicking in and the Ben and Jerry’s Half-Baked Fro Yo isn’t enough, try these  MINI ice cream cones. These tiny cones are just enough dessert when you’re craving something sweet, but don’t want a lot of calories. At only 70 calories per cone, it’s a must-have for your freezer! Trader Joe’s sells 8 cones for only $2.99!

2 thoughts on “Friday5

Leave a Reply

