DMV – Perspective Shift

I am currently writing this post from hell the DMV. I dread this trip. I’ve been putting it off for weeks now, but decided since I’m on my week of “unemployment”, now is as good of a time as any. No one enjoys this trip. And I know I’m just contributing to the negativity here with this angry post. While sitting in DMV purgatory (I’m #170 and they are on #152), a thought crossed my mind…you never know what the person beside you is going through. I can imagine that most of the people here do not have it as easy as I do. How lucky am I that I have this beautiful day off? I got to sleep in late, go to a yoga class and catch up with old friends at lunch. I have a trip planned tomorrow and a fantastic new job waiting for me to start next week. I’m lucky I’m in good enough health to be able to have a license and that I’ve been blessed with a job that has afforded me the ability to purchase a car. As I sit here and count all of my blessings, the anger and impatience seems to slip away. It’s hard to get caught up in the HAVE TO’s, but my perspective seems to shift when I start to appreciate the GET TO’s.

Leave a Reply

